Sorry my Memory Monday is a bit late. It's been a bit crazy today.
See that scar on my finger? You know, the scar that I circled in bright red? This is the story behind that scar.
It was wintertime, January of 2006. We had lived in our current house for all of 5 or 6 months. I was about two months along in my pregnancy with Troy. Now, this is important. Because I honestly was super crazy the whole time I was pregnant with Troy. The kids would walk by me, and I'd be like, "DON'T WALK SO LOUD!!!! AAAAHHHH!!!!" In that spring we had planted some grass, and I went out and used the weed wacker on the weeds growing above the new grass on the whole entire lawn. And we have a big freaking lawn. Everything made me mad, everything made me sad. I was the epitome of crazy.
So that day, my sister Lexi and I were going to get together to scrapbook. You know, back when I had time to do cool things like that. I went to the store with my two kids in tow, bought some stuff, and when I came home I thought, "Wouldn't it be great if I shoveled the snow off the walk for when Lex comes over before starting dinner? Look at me be productive while having morning sickness!" I had set the meat out on the counter, along with our other groceries, and went outside to shovel. It wasn't quite dark out yet.
So I shovel-shovel-shovel, and then I went to go back inside. Right as I reach for the doorknob, I hear a "click". Jakob, all of a little over two, and Brock at 9-ish months old, had been inside. And...Jakob had just locked the door on me. Of course my keys were inside my house, and of course we hadn't made a copy of our key to give to anyone else or to set outside the house for just such an occasion. In a nice voice, I said, "Jakob, honey, open the door for Mommy. Just turn the little, um, thingy, the other way." And my 2-year-old tried flipping the dead bolt part of the door. Then I go, "Jakob, honey, keep trying. It's the bottom one." Of course he didn't get it. I mean, he was two. So then I knocked on the door, and the urgency built in my voice. "Jake, please open the door. You just have to turn the thingy on the knob. Please, Jakob. Wait-I'm going to the back door-please let me in."
And Jakob then ran downstairs.
I kept knocking. I checked the front door. I checked the back door. Everything was locked-including windows. Tight-like unto a dish. Which, normally, would be a good thing. On that day, not so much.
I ran around the house. I rang the doorbell, and heard Jakob run upstairs. I begged at that door for him to let me in. He ran back downstairs to watch TV. I climbed down into our window well and banged on the window, hoping he'd peek through the blinds at me. Nada.
I sat down to try and figure out what to do. Now, a normal person would think Hey!-run next door and ask to borrow their phone and call a locksmith! But remember, I was not a normal person at this time. I was Crazy Pregnant Nat. I thought about going next door, but to call Pete, but knew he couldn't get to me for another two or three hours because of traveling back from work. I thought, hey, I could just hang out over there until Pete gets home, but no, that would leave my kids in my house all alone. Hmm, what in the world should I do????
I did the only "logical" thing that I could think of. I would just have to break in. Literally.
I grabbed a big hammer thing, and tried to find a suitable window. Which one? I didn't have a ladder (hm, still don't), so it would have to be one into which I could easily climb through. The only one that I could see that would work was our big sliding glass door in the backyard.
So, right now I'm making it sound like I was being all calm and collected at this point. Far from it. Which kind of goes without explanation, because hi-I was about to break a big glass door. But my mind was all, "THE MEAT IS ON THE COUNTER-IT WILL GO BAD!!!! BROCK IS DOWNSTAIRS CRYING-WHAT IF HE'S HURT?!?!?!? I WILL NEVER REACH MY CHILDREN!!! THEY ARE GOING TO DIE IF I'M NOT WITH THEM RIGHT THIS SECOND!!!! AAAAAHHHHH!!!!!!" Kind of Mama Bear meets Axe Murderer meets Xena the Warrior Princess.
I took my big hammer, and swung at the door. It hit. And bounced off. Nothing! So, I try again, but a little harder. Everyone and their dog was like, didn't you know it was going to shatter everywhere? Um, no, I did not, having never broken a window/door before. I actually thought I'd break a little hole right by the handle so I could reach in and flip the lock, and the glass would just have a little hole in it. But no. The whole entire pane shattered into little pebble-like pieces. But then I discovered something else-our door was double paned. So I had to do it again.
Each time I swung, I turned my face away and closed my eyes. Smart point-the only smart point of the night-for me. But, stupid point for me-I was holding my gloves in my left hand as I swung with my right. Why I didn't put my gloves on while swinging my hand at broken glass is beyond me.
I hit through the second pane, and barely realized that my finger got sliced in the process. I immediately started crying. There was glass everywhere in my kitchen, and outside. I went to the kitchen sink for my finger, dripping blood as I went. And then I got on the phone, trying to find anyone that I could to come and help me. I called my mom's cell, then my parents' house, then Lexi's cell, then my dad's cell, then my dad's work. No answers anywhere. I called Pete and told him what happened. I went downstairs and said, "JAKOB! Why didn't you let me in?!?!?" He was calmly sitting on the couch, watching TV. I think he thought he'd be in trouble if he came back up, which is why he was hiding.
I finally got ahold of my mom, and she came over. In the meantime, I tried to sweep broken glass with a bleeding finger. I tried to calm my baby Brock while bleeding everywhere. We went to the urgent care. My skin on my finger was hanging on by a thread, so they basically pulled it off and then sewed it back on.
For the next week I had a brace thingy that I couldn't get wet. Showering left-handed (I'm right) was quite the adventure. Then I had to take the brace off and could barely bend my finger. That night my family had to stay with my parents until a replacement door got put in. We propped up some cardboard to help keep snow out of our house.
And now I have a reminder of my Crazy Days.
And my glass sliding door doesn't work as well as the original.
Meet The Nat Pack!
- Nat
- The Nat Pack: The super fashionable, super mod, super hip family consisting of Nat, Pete, Jakob, Brock, Troy, and Ivy. Like The Rat Pack, only younger, cuter, and not as rich or famous.
Showing posts with label hormones. Show all posts
Showing posts with label hormones. Show all posts
Monday, November 15, 2010
Thursday, November 19, 2009
Take 2
I'm being lazy/non-energetic/still recovering from surgery/uncreative today. No, check that-that's how I've been feeling for the last, oh, 5 weeks.
Monday, July 21, 2008
Going Bald
Can your hairbrush be mistaken for Chewbacca?

Can you make a wig out of your vacuum bag contents?
Can you take a bath without using the metal plug?
Do you perk up when Rogaine commercials come on TV?
Do your feet look like a Hobbit's after walking around your house bare-footed?

Then YOU, my friend, had a baby a couple of months ago!
Tuesday, July 15, 2008
Cheese-tastic Mormon Musicals and My Overactive Tear Ducts
So. Been having a rough...week. Or so. I'm pretty sure it started last Tuesday, which coincidentally or not, that's when I started potty training Brock. And come to find out it fell right into my body's womanly schedule (a lovely TMI tidbit), even though I didn't know that until today. So I could blame it on PMS, too. But I think it's been, like, the perfect storm of happenings to make me turn into the demon wife/mother that I've been lately.Also, I hate World of Warcraft. That's all I'm going to say about that. Anyway...
My sister Lex called me up, and invited me and my sister and my Grandpa to "The White Star", which is the sequel to "Saturday's Warrior". It's 35 years later, and now Jimmy, the main guy from "Saturday's Warrior", is a dad. The first part of the show they basically sing snippets of all the songs from "Saturday's Warrior", and then segue into "The White Star" after that. When Jimmy started singing "Brace Me Up", the tears started flowing.
Who am I, where am I going?
Here I sit all alone not knowing why.
Brace me up, I'm so discouraged.
Help, I think I'm gonna die.
How it hurts to be a no one.
How I wish I was someone really loved.
Brace me up, I'm such a failure.
Heaven, help me, up above.
Isn't there someone with a hand to spare?
Who can share what they have for my hunger?
Isn't there someone who will take me as I am?
Brace me up, not put me down.
Make me feel like I'm as good as another...
Um, yeah. My thoughts and feelings as of late EXACTLY. Basically, I've just felt...all worn out. Just tired of being a mom right now, and dealing with the kids and the laundry and the cooking. And the cleaning, the endless cleaning... Kind of emotionally drained, if you will. I think as moms we just give and give and give, and don't get much in return. Well, that's how it is for me, anyway. Lately I've just felt like a slave, and I've kind of lost me. I've been doing my job so much that I've become my job.
Does any of that make sense? Well, even if it doesn't, it does to me. So there!
Back to the musical: I liked the overall story, though some (most) of the songs were cheesy. But that's kind of to be expected. After all, the person that wrote the songs in the sequel was Janice "Crap" Perry. (I don't hate all her songs. I love "Love is Spoken Here" and "A Child's Prayer". But "As Sisters in Zion"? Gag.) The singers were amazing. I'll admit, though, some of the story line was crazy. Like, Jimmy's son gets visited by his dead brother that he never knew he had. And his Mormon Scottish ancestors had a girl that never got sealed to them. (Sounds kinda soap-opera-ey, huh? But it's not.) And it's this huge big mystery about why Jimmy fell away from the church again. Then he ends up seeing his dead sister at the end, after his son has head trauma. Yes, now you're all intrigued, aren't you?
Anyway, feeling better today, though the potty training is still very much an issue, and will be for some time, I fear. But at least I can be cleaning up bodily fluids while new crazy songs run through my head.
Monday, May 19, 2008
Oh Happy Day!
Guess what? I'm back in my pre-pregnancy jeans as of today! I'm a little muffin-toppy, but right now that doesn't matter. It's nice to have something feel normal.
And, I needed to give a shout-out to my sister-in-law Kelly. She had her boy Jack last Tuesday. Here are some pictures of the cutie (thanks, Amy!). Congrats, Kelly and Mark! Hopefully it will be sooner than later when we get the chance to see him in person.
Also, I promise when I get the chance and am feeling in control a bit more, I'll post more pics of our Ivy. Right now I still feel a bit like her:
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
